If you want to find out more about our
NEW MONITOR and take a sneak preview of our NEW WEBSITE then CLICK HERE!

Directors and Company Secretary

LiDCO Group Plc Directors


Theresa Wallis - Non Executive Chairman

Ms Wallis was appointed in December 2002. She has worked most of her career in financial services, moving into the technology commercialisation sector in 2001. She worked for the London Stock Exchange for 13 years, where from 1995 to 2001 she was chief operating officer of AIM, the market for smaller growing companies, having managed the market’s development and launch in 1994/5. From 2001 to end 2006 she was a principal executive of ANGLE plc, a venture management and consulting business focusing on the commercialisation of technology. Since 2001 she has held a number of non-executive directorships and she is currently a non-executive director of Special Products Limited. Ms Wallis chairs the Group’s Audit and Nomination Committees and is a member of the Remuneration Committee.


Peter Grant – Non Executive Director and Chairman Designate

Peter Grant joined the Board as Non Executive Director and Chairman Designate on 6th March 2017. It is the Board’s intention that Mr Grant will succeed Ms Wallis as Chairman of the Board, Audit and Nomination Committees when she steps down at the Annual General Meeting scheduled for 10 May 2017. Mr Grant was Chief Executive Officer of Skyepharma PLC from January 2012 to June 2016, until its merger with Vectura Group plc. He joined Skyepharma as Chief Financial Officer in November 2006. Prior to Skyepharma, Mr Grant was Interim Chief Executive Officer of Voice Commerce Group, Group Finance Director at Eurodis Electron plc, Chief Financial Officer at WorldPay plc, Group Chief Executive at Molins plc and Finance Director at Molins plc. Prior to this he held a variety of senior commercial, financial and general management roles in the General Electric Company plc group of companies. He holds an MA in Mathematics from the University of Oxford and is a Chartered Accountant. Mr Grant is Non-Executive Director and Chair of the Audit and Risk Committee at Abzena plc. Mr Grant is a member of the Audit, Nomination and Remuneration Committees.


Matthew (Matt) Sassone - Chief Executive Officer

Mr Sassone was appointed to the board on 15 June 2015 and took over the role of Chief Executive Officer on the retirement of Dr Terry O’Brien on 14 August 2015. He has over 19 years’ experience in the medical industry having started his career in sales for Quintiles in 1996. He spent 12 years at Smiths Medical in various sales, marketing and business development roles achieving the role of Managing Director, Northern and Eastern Europe and Russia in 2010. In 2012 he moved to ArjoHuntleigh, a division of the Getinge Group, as Senior Vice President Global Marketing and was subsequently appointed Chief Marketing Officer of Maquet, also a division of Getinge. Mr Sassone has a degree in biochemistry with microbiology. Mr Sassone is a member of the Group’s Nomination Committee.


Paul Clifford - Finance Director

Mr Clifford is a chartered accountant, qualifying with Touche Ross (now Deloitte) in 1975. He joined the Group and was appointed to the Board in April 2008 having spent 28 years in finance positions in technology companies. In 1991 he co-founded BCS Computing Limited, a venture capital backed concern investing in computer software companies. He became finance director of software group Comino in 1996 prior to its flotation on AIM in 1997. Comino moved to a full listing in 1999 and was acquired by AIM quoted Civica plc in 2006 when Mr Clifford became finance director of Civica UK Limited, its main operating subsidiary, leaving in 2008.


Ian Brown - Non Executive Director

Mr Brown was appointed in October 2005. He has over 25 years’ experience in the medical devices industry and has extensive experience of developing and introducing new medical devices to the market in the UK and overseas. Between 1986 and 2003, he was an executive director and shareholder in a medical device start-up company (Novamedix Group), initially as sales and marketing director and later as managing director. The company was progressively sold to a major US healthcare group (Ofix). In his early career, Mr Brown worked in a number of UK and international sales and marketing positions for Johnson & Johnson, Smiths Industries and Pharmacia AB. Mr Brown is also a keen investor and advisor for a number of private technology and healthcare start-up companies. Mr Brown is a member of the Group’s Remuneration, Audit and Nomination Committees.

Phil Cooper

Phil Cooper - Non Executive Director

Mr Cooper was appointed in August 2016. He has 30 years of experience in the medical device industry and grown businesses through geographical expansion, introduction of new products and concepts and the creation of new customer channels and segments. Having gained experience in sales, sales management and logistics he was appointed UK Marketing Director for the Clinical Division of SCA Molnlycke and subsequently, on its sale to private equity in 1998, UK Managing Director of Molnlycke Health Care. In 2001 he joined the Group Executive Board and initiated the Customer Procedure Tray business for Molnlycke, now the European market leader. From 2005 he focussed on the Wound Care Division business and was appointed President in 2007. In his tenure as President from 2007 to 2014, Molnlycke became the global leader for advanced wound dressings and the market leader in the US and Europe, also entering directly in a number of key Asia-Pacific territories. Since 2014 Mr Cooper has been an independent advisor to a number of health care companies and is a non-executive director of Alesi Surgical. Mr Cooper is the Chair of the Remuneration Committee and a member of the Audit and Nomination Committees.

Kerin Williams (Equiniti David Venus) - Company Secretary

Page last up-dated: 6 March 2017